Video

In Order to Survive

I’ve spent this morning working, and will do the same much of the afternoon, despite it being a Saturday. Things are a bit chaotic at work right now, which can sometimes be frustrating and overwhelming, but can also be exciting. Ultimately, I prefer a bit of chaos to boredom and dull repetition.

The same can be said for the music I listen to. This selection from the group In Order to Survive features a raucous piano solo from Cooper-Moore, propelled along by William Parker on bass and Hamid Drake on drums. William and Hamid have put out a few duo records that are among my favorite things to put on while I work. This selection demands your attention though – it’s not background music. It’s great to see artist Jeff Schlanger creating a vision of the music as it happens.

This is a selection from the 2012 Vision Festival in NYC – I attended the festival a couple of times, I think in ’98 and ’99, and seeing this caliber of creative music is always inspiring. I love how order and patterns emerge out of the chaos and then either repeat or disappear. Very glad I took the time to look for this inspiration today.

Leave a Reply

