A Beginner’s Guide to Irrational Behavior

Dan Ariely is teaching a MOOC on Coursera on irrationality – this is actually his second time teaching the course. I signed up for this course a few weeks ago, and read his book The Upside of Irrationality a few years ago. I recently loaned that book out to a couple of people, which probably predisposed me to go ahead and sign up for the course when I saw it was being offered. I’m interested to see how Dan uses online tools to teach. 

I tried participating in the Stanford AI class offered in 2011, but my computer at the time couldn’t handle the programs used by that class, and the subject itself was a bit more of a stretch of my abilities than I was ready for. Because I’ve always found Dan’s work to be interesting and somewhat intuitive, I’m hoping/thinking that I’ll have an easier time with this course.

I just got my welcome email with the course calendar and I’m interested to see how the course material intersects with the Duhigg book. I’m a bit concerned with the amount of time this course will take, but on the upside I think that it will provide excellent source material for more of these blog posts.

Leave a Reply

